Keeping Things in Perspective

Having lunch after a 120 km (75 mile) bike ride which didn’t go as well as I had hoped. I was reading an article about a female triathlete with Multiple Sclerosis (MS). She used the following quote from Mark Allen which really puts things into perspective:

In the heat of competition it’s easy to get stuck on what is not going well, which causes you to lose sight of how lucky you are to be able to race … Find that place within yourself that is grateful to be alive and fit enough to even consider undertaking a triathlon.”

She noted that “I am just as grateful for great training days as I am for difficult training days and races, when everything is a struggle. Recovering from training or a race reminds me that I can compete when others living with MS may not be able to.”

They are right. I am very fortunate to have a body that works and to be able to train and compete. I guess that an average speed of 29 km/h wasn’t so bad after all …

Leave a Reply

