P90X – Week 1

Here we go …

Day 1 – Core Synergistics

Was it only two weeks ago I did Ironman Louisville? Hard to believe because after Day 1 of my P90X program I am very sore. They were not kidding on the slowtwitch.com forums when they said this would trash you. The workout focused on your core strength and I’m not embarrassed to say that I couldn’t do all of them. At least there were no chin-ups.

I was at the Radisson SAS airport hotel in Tbilisi and left quite a wet mark on the carpet. I wasn’t able to do all the reps for each set, and for the rest of the day was reminded of muscle groups I didn’t know I had. This should be and interesting journey…

Day 2 – Cardio X

My hotel room in Tbilisi was quite small so headed to the gym at 05:30—the joys of jet lag. At least I had the place to myself.  The routine was shorter than yesterday, and in interesting combination of cardio, yoga and Kenpo/boxing. Did I really do Karate for several years when I was younger? Definitely no muscle memory or balance 30 years later! Discovered yet another set of new muscles. After the workout did a few more cursed chin ups and a 15 minute spin on my bicycle and trainer which I had retrieved from the hotel left luggage at 03:30 and reassembled.

Day 3 – Shoulders & Arms and Abs Ripper X

In spite of being a perpetual traveller I don’t do jetlag very well. I woke up at 01:00 and by 02:00 I figured if I was going to be awake I may as well get my workout over. One advantage (the only one?) to going to the gym in the middle of the night is that you have it all to yourself. Today’s workout was a long one, 1:15, with a lot of work on the arms/shoulders followed by a 15 minute brutal ab workout. It did confirm my dweeb status with regard to upper body strength, and lack of abs. Don’t ask about chin-ups. This program is very humiliating. At least my rope skipping is improving; I’m using that as a warm up and no longer continually tripping over my feet.

Day 4 – Yoga X

I was missing some good cardio so I did a 1:oo time trial on my trainer in the hotel room using the Spinervals 2.0 DVD. After that it was time for Yoga X. I am in irregular yoga participant. During winter I went to yoga class once a week when I could, and I have several yoga DVDs that I do when I have time—so not very often during race season! It is a challenge to find good routines and the right rhythm for a yoga workout; some are too slow, others too fast, others too easy. The Yoga X is a long workout – 1:30 – and I only had time to do half of it. It struck the right balance between difficulty and pace and, like everything else so far, was challenging. Must go back and finish it sometime soon.

Day 5 – Legs & Back and Abs Ripper X

Went to the gym again for this workout. Since they didn’t have a chin-up bar I used my resistance bands. They really are a useful fall back option. You don’t get as good a workout but they are very versatile, and better than nothing. As expected, the workout gave my legs a good challenge. Lots of squats, lunges and the like. You mostly use your body weight which is very sensible when working into a new program. As with some earlier workouts I was reminded of muscles that were little used. I found this workout easier than the others, probably because of my running and cycling fitness, but I could see how it would very beneficial to my race performance. The abs ripper was just as horrible as a few days ago, but at least I now know what to anticipate. To be forewarned is to be forearmed… I just hope that at some point I will be able to do the whole routine.

Day 6 – Kenpo X

This is a martial arts workout which I technically did on Day 7 since I had a migraine on Day 6 and decided that spending the day in a dark room popping Tylenol was a better idea. The routine is a series of punches and kicks along with blocks. I was surprised about half way through the routine when I began to remember a bit of my Karate from many years ago—like always be covering your core etc. I enjoyed the routine quite a lot and I worked up a good sweat—another hotel wet spot. The cleaning staff must really wonder with the bike on the trainer parked in the corner.

Day 7 – Rest or X Stretch

After doing the Kenpo X I did a 30 minute ride on my bike trainer and then the X Stretch. It is a nice routine which gives a good stretch to the muscle groups—and confirms my total lack of agility. The people on the DVD must be double jointed.

 

So after seven workouts I must say that I’m impressed. The program gives you a good full body workout and is balanced with lots of stretching. Time to repeat this program for Week 2.

One response to “P90X – Week 1

  1. I’ve had some good results with P90X and it is a program I will incorporate for the rest of my life. I have had some discussions with runners about it and some see the benefits and some think they know everything. Personally, conditioning those rarely used muscles can’t hurt. Seems like it would help over all performance in everything. Well at least it has for me.

Leave a Reply

