P90X – Week 12

The second to last week of P90X, and the end cannot come too soon. It is not that I am tired of doing the routines; I’m just plain fatigued. I’ve got 13 h of triathlon training scheduled this week, as well as a lot of manual work do to around the property we’ve bought. Oh yes, and there is a sprint triathlon this Sunday as well.  Anyway, that which does not kill you makes you stronger …

Day 78 – Chest, Shoulders & Triceps

I started doing this Monday morning and after the third routine I knew I had to quit. Normally once I start something I finish it, but I was just too trashed to see it through. In the evening I compensated with Yoga X. I took Tuesday off rather than doing Polymetrics—did a hard bike ride instead to give my arms a break—and then on Wednesday did the routine. It went OK all things considered, like the 2 h I spent Tuesday evening with a scrub cutter in the field and the holes I dug in the clay to plant our raspberry bushes.

Day 79 – Polymetrics

I skipped this routine and did a hard set of intervals for 35 km on my bike. I really have a lot of work to do to get my cycling fitness to where it needs to be.

Day 80 – Back & Biceps, Ab Ripper X

I really don’t like pull ups so this is by far my least favourite workout. Anyway, I did it. What is most surprising is how much I’ve progressed with Ab Ripper X from when I started. Even the most problematic exercise is now quite doable. Nice to see such results!

Day 81 – Yoga X

As I mentioned above, I did this as compensation for having no oomph on Monday. My left IT band is still very tight. I’ve started some physiotherapy on it which will hopefully help.

Day 82 – Core Synergistics

Took a much needed rest day from any exercise.

Day 83 – Kenpo X

It was a very busy week so I got out of sequence with things and had trouble doing the workouts. I did this as a second workout after Back & Biceps/Ab Ripper X. After all, you do lots of kicks and throwing punches which do not put lots of demands on the back and biceps. Or so I thought. Let’s just say that after the back to back workouts I can no longer feel my arms. Probably a very good thing 🙂

Day 84 – X Stretch

No stretching – just the Cable Bay Sprint Triathlon.

3 responses to “P90X – Week 12

  1. “The legs and back workout still gets me and I’ve done it for almost 5 months now. I am always sore for a day or two but I guess that’s a good thing. Are you a Beachbody Coach? I don’t see anywhere on your site saying you are. To learn more go to http://www.BeachBodyCoach.com/workoutsuccess and click on the “Coach” tab. You get discounts on the products and the chance to earn money. I like doing it as it keeps me accountable to working out. Feel free to contact me about it. Stick with P90X. I went from doing 22 total pull ups with legs and back to 106 at the end of 90 days. Bring it!”

    • Definitely not a coach … just an enthusiast. Starting at 22 and ending up at 106 pull ups? Whew. I’ve also gone up by a factor of five, but I’m in the low double digits which tells you how pathetic I was (am?). Better go and hit the pull bar …

  2. I looks like you are extremely active and fit, wow! Great job! I know how much dedication and work it takes to stay fit. I recently completed the P90X and have started the Insanity program. I cannot believe how crazy Insanity is! I was looking at your blog and it doesn’t seem that you are a Beachbody coach. I have been making a modest amount of money being a Beachbody Coach and it really hasn’t taken too much effort.
    If your interested click on the “Coach” tab at http://www.beachbodycoach.com/esuite/home/mccabe21

    Good Luck with your workouts!

Leave a Reply

