Daily Archives: January 6, 2011

Wearing Bicycle Helmets

As a triathlete I cycle a lot. I’ve crashed more times than I would like to admit – sometimes on my own, others when cars have done something unexpected. I’ve got several broken helmets hanging up as a reminder of those accidents. Some with broken Styrofoam, others with serious abrasions along the side where my head skidded along the road as I came to a stop. I always wear my helmet.

Mikael Colville-Andersen from Denmark (homeland of my wife Lis) has a thought provoking TED presentation on ‘Why We Shouldn’t Bike with a Helmet’.  While I question some of his statistics, the thrust of his argument is persuasive. Now I’m not about to stop wearing my helmet, but it has made me wonder if we have gone overboard with requiring helmets for everyone.

Check out the video – it is excellent – and the comments are almost as good!

http://video.tedxcopenhagen.dk/video/911034/mikael-colville-andersen

