Daily Archives: May 13, 2012

Ironman Brazil: Starting My Taper

TS Eliot wrote in his poem ‘The Wasteland’ the famous stanza: “April is the cruellest month”. As my race preparation phase month, this meant an awful lot of training. It was exacerbated by having my March training somewhat compromised by five weeks of travel, which made it necessary to increase the intensity as well as the volume (I subscribe to the Endurance Nation training philosophy that “work WORKS”).

My shortest training week in April was 16 h; my longest 20 h. But the hard work is over. After 18 weeks of training I have reached the magic point where I begin the taper to my race which is two weeks from today. I feel like crap but that is to be expected. My Endurance Nation training plan notes “… your body won’t feel so hot as it begins to cycle down and absorb all the hard work you have done”.  That is an understatement.

Continue reading