Daily Archives: January 21, 2016

Stabilizing the Gamin 1000 Dynamo Power Cable

A short post on powering your Garmin 1000 from the dynamo while riding. Often, the micro-USB power cable works loose losing power. Here’s my solution.

The first step is to get a right angle micro USB cable like this:http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/321370444583

Then use the rubber ‘bands’ that come with your Garmin and loop one of them around the GPS and the flat side of the micro-usb cable. I have one of those silicon covers for my Edge 1000 which serves to hold the cable in place. If it slips put a bit of tape on the top side.

This arrangement makes the cable really firm in place and yet easy to remove when you want to pop your Garmin off to go shopping.

PIC_20160120_073611

PIC_20160120_073634

Postscript: Worked great for a few rides but I’ve done one modification. I used a file to put a groove into the back of the plug which serves to hold the rubber band in place firmly.